Skip to content

Mid-June Tomatoes

17/06/2012

The first tomato flowers are now turning into the first tomatoes. Below, one of the cherry toms:

I discovered a minor aphid infestation in the middle of the tom grid yesterday and in my overzealous spraying of the tomatoes with the hose, knocked off the first Japanese Black Trifele, to my self-annoyance. To try and control the aphids, I first removed the most heavily damaged leaves, then staked the toms as I was planning to do anyway, thinking it might stabilize them when I then sprayed them with a blast of the hose (it did, except for in the aforementioned accident). Then I sprayed them with a garlic soap mixture: I chopped four large cloves of garlic and mixed it with a little Ecover dish soap. As of this afternoon they seem aphid free, so fingers crossed….

staked toms with peppers in foreground

From → peppers, tomato

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

