Skip to content

Asparagus

21/04/2013

Today I planted the asparagus, but first I had to prepare the bed. That I did last Sunday. If you are standing with your back to the house and facing the street, the asparagus bed is to the left of the main vegetable garden. I used logs from the catalpa tree we had to take down in 2011, cardboard, compost/manure, and top soil.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAAsparagus Bed Site

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAAsparagus Bed Prep

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA   Asparagus Arrives! With Ooni and random objects.

Over the layer of cardboard I spread a two inch layer of compost, then a two inch layer of top soil, made two trenches for the asparagus plants, and laid the plants out. I ordered 25, so a row of 13 and a row of 12. They are not spaced as far apart as they should be, but you do what you can as an urban gardener.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAAsparagus Laid Out

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAAsparagus Crown

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAAsparagus Planted

After I got the crowns planted I buried them with another two inches of topsoil. As the ferns grow, I will continue burying them, until eventually the top of the soil with be level with the tops of the logs. Really, the logs should be taller for the ideal amount of soil but hey, again, you do what you can….

These are one year old plants, and you don’t start to harvest them until the third year, really. So a slow, but worthwhile investment. Really, an investment: this is my most expensive gardening venture yet, and I’m crossing all of my fingers and toes.

From → asparagus

One Comment
  1. I’m excited to see how this turns out. I’ve always wanted to grow asparagus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

