Skip to content

Seed Saving: Monarda (Bee Balm)

27/09/2014

The bee balm I planted last summer is popping up all over the garden this year so obviously I don’t need to save seed, but I still feel like it is a waste not to if I can. Plus, seed saving is fun! All I did was let the flower heads dry and collected them; as I was doing so the teeny tiny seeds were falling out. I have such a crush on bee balm right now and wish I had saved some to dry: the plants were pretty much done when I cut them down but they were still so amazingly fragrant. Shaking out the rest of the seeds should smell wonderful. (I’m leaving them outside overnight since I spotted some little spiders amongst them, will give them some time to find a new home….)

Bee Balm

Bee Balm In Full Flower

Bee Flying To Bee Balm

Bee Flying To Bee Balm

 Dried Flower Head

Dried Flower Head

Dried Flower Heads

Dried Flower Heads

Dried Flower Heads & Seeds

Dried Flower Heads & Seeds

I didn’t even shake the flower heads out yet, just set them in the container, so that’s how easy they fall out. I’m sure this is how bee balm self seeds so easily. I threw some stalks along the fence line to see if I’ll get more popping up there next season.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

