Skip to content

Asparagus Season Starts

27/04/2017

First Asparagus 4_27_2017 (4).jpgHarvested the first asparagus of the season today! I planted one year-old crowns in 2013, so these babies are five years old now. I can harvest as much as I want and I’ll still have plenty to spare. Last year I was eating asparagus almost until the end of June, a long season, so I’m looking forward to see what this season brings. The fencing left some scars along the sides of some of the spears, which did nothing to the taste, and since I’m not selling my produce I don’t mind so much what they look like aesthetically. The spears I harvested today were nice and thick and healthy: the best yet, and I ate them simply sauteed with butter, my favorite way to eat asparagus. Bring on Garden 2017!

First Asparagus 4_27_2017 (1)First Asparagus 4_27_2017 (2)First Asparagus 4_27_2017 (3)First Asparagus 4_27_2017 (6)

From → asparagus

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

